What To Read In June


Summer Love Stories.png

I can’t believe we’re already almost halfway through 2019! It’s been such a great year for the literary industry so far and there’s no sign that things are going to slow down anytime soon. So many incredible books are hitting shelves this month, and, in hopes of making your reading choices a bit easier, I’ve compiled a list of the most exciting new releases to read in June. These books are perfect for outdoor summer reading and holiday relaxing, and there’s something for everyone in this exciting list, whether it’s Nordic Noir, romantic comedy, family drama, or something in between!

Now let’s dive right in to the titles hitting shelves in June…


I’ll Never Tell by Catherine McKenzie

Pub date: June 4th

Synopsis: After the sudden death of their parents, the MacAllister children return to the summer camp where they spent their childhoods. The four sisters and one brother haven’t returned to Camp Macaw since a tragic and mysterious accident two decades earlier. Before they can decide what to do with a multi-million dollar property, the siblings have to deal with a shocking clause in their father’s’ will that forces them to finally face their pasts. I’ll Never Tell is a meticulously crafted family drama that’s already been compared to Liane Moriarty’s suspenseful work.

Publisher: Simon & Schuster, Simon & Schuster Canada

Ayesha At Last by Uzma Jalaluddin

Pub date: June 4th

Synopsis: Described as a “modern day Pride and Prejudice for a new generation of love,” Ayesha At Last follows Ayesha Shamsi’s life with her boisterous Muslim family. After setting aside her dreams of being a poet to work as a teacher so she can repay debts to her wealthy uncle, Ayesha meets a smart and handsome but conservative and judgment man named Khalid. When a surprise engagement is announced between Khalid and Ayesha’s younger cousin, Ayesha must confront her feelings and grapple with her understanding of the world.

Publisher: Berkley

Your Life Is Mine by Nathan Ripley

Pub date: June 4th

Synopsis: The author of Find You In The Dark follows up on his hit novel with a new thriller, this time about a young filmmaker named Blanche who has spent her life trying to distance herself from her father, a now-dead cult leader and murderer. When her mother dies mysteriously, Blanche returns home and realizes there is more to the death than police are letting on. She begins to wonder if her father’s cult has found a new life and if they are coming after her next.

Publisher: Simon & Schuster, Simon & Schuster Canada

City of Girls by Elizabeth Gilbert

Pub Date: June 4th

Synopsis: The New York Times bestselling author of Eat, Pray, Love is back with this 1940s New York City love story. Aging Vivian Morris looks back on her youth and remembers her life after being kicked out of Vasser College and sent to live in Manhattan with her Aunt Peg, the owner of the quirky Lily Playhouse. At Lily, Vivian is introduced to a series of interesting and peculiar people. But when a personal mistake results in professional Scandal, Vivian’s life is turned upside down in ways she won’t fully comprehends for years to come.

Publisher: Riverhead Books

The Summer We Lost Her by Tish Cohen

Pub date: June 4th

Synopsis: A summer at the lakehouse seems like the perfect cure for an ailing marriage between a driven lawyer and an Olympic equestrian. Matt and Elise Sorensen, and their daughter Gracie, are in the Adirondacks preparing to sell their lakefront property, and have agreed to use the time to reconnect. But a disquietly attractive neighbour, the resurfacing of painful memories, and Gracie’s sudden disappearance thrown Matt and Elise into the worst situation of their lives.

Publisher: Gallery Books

The Bobcat by Katherine Forbes Riley

Pub date: June 5th

Synopsis: In the aftermath of a sexual assault, a young art student named Laurelie transfers from her busy city university to a small college in rural Vermont. She only feels truly comfortable when she takes walks through the woods with a young child she babysits. One day they pair come upon an injured pregnant bobcat, and shortly afterwards meet a hiker who has been following the wildcat for hundreds of miles. Laurelie finds herself mirrored in the injured animal, while the hiker finds himself drawn in to Laurelie’s healing the same way he’s been drawn into the bobcats’.

Publisher: Skyhorse Publishing

The Paper Wasp by Lauren Acampora

Pub date: June 11th

Synopsis: Abby Graven never accomplished the things she wanted in life - her burgeoning art career felt flat and she now lives in small-town Michigan obsessing over her childhood best friend Elise’s Hollywood fame. When the pair are reunited at a high school reunion, Abby is shocked to find that Elise still considers her a friend. Their lives become intricately intertwined when Abby follows Elise to Los Angeles in pursuit of success, friendship and maybe something a bit more nefarious. The Paper Wasp is about a women determined to fulfill her destiny.

Publisher: Grove Atlantic

One Minute Later by Susan Lewis

Pub date: June 11th

Synopsis: Vivienne Shager’s life is going in the right direction. She’s got a great job, wonderful friends, and a beautiful apartment. But when she has a heart attack on her 27th birthday she is forced to rewind and return to her childhood home in a small seaside town. Someone in her family has been keeping a secret for thirty years, and now that it directly affects her life, Vivienne is determined to bring it out into the light.

Publisher: HarperCollins

The Girl Without Skin by Mads Peter Nordbo

Pub date: June 11th

Synopsis: Nordic noir meets viking history in this creepy, twisting mystery novel by Danish author Mads Peter Nordbo. When a mummified viking corpse is discovered in Greenland, journalist Matthew Cave is sent out to cover the story. But when he arrives the at the scene he discovers the mummy is gone and it’s armed police guard has been murdered is a way that eerily echoes the details of a series of unsolved murders years before. Matthew finds help solving the case form a young Greenlandic woman who, at the age of 14, was charged with killing her father in the same shocking manner.

Publisher: Text Publishing

Recursion by Blake Crouch

Pub date: June 11th

Synopsis: New York City cop Barry Sutton investigates a bizarre phenomenon dubbed False Memory Syndrome, a mysterious affliction by which sufferers are driven mad with memories of a life they never lived. Neuroscientist Helena Smith has spent her life working to create a technology that allows people to preserve and relive memories. They’ll have to work together to battle the syndrome as it begins to rip apart the fabric of human societies in this highly original science-fiction page-turner.

Publisher: Crown Publishing Group

Mrs. Everything by Jennifer Weiner

Pub date: June 11th

Synopsis: Jennifer Weiner explores two sisters’ lives from the 1950s to the present as they try to find their place in a rapidly evolving world while also staying true to themselves. Jo and Bethie Kaufman grow and change with America, enduring tragedy, trauma and more throughout the time of Woodstock, the Vietnam War and women’s liberation. It’s a timely depiction of femininity in the almost-modern world and a demonstration that no two people are the same - even those so closely related.

Publisher: Atria Books

The First Mistake by Sandie Jones

Pub date: June 11th

Synopsis: After the death of her first husband Alice wasn’t sure she’d ever be truly happy again. But now, married to Nathan and mother to two children, Alice finally feels at peace. Her best friend Beth is her confidante, and when Nathan begins acting strangely, Alice turns to her for advice. But what Alice doesn’t realize is that Beth may not be exactly who she seems.

Publisher: Minotaur Books

The Last House Guest by Megan Miranda

Pub date: June 18th

Synopsis: Acclaimed and bestselling author Megan Miranda follows up on past hit novels like All The Missing Girls and The Perfect Stranger with this twisty turny story about an East Coast vacation town. Avery Greer runs a cottage rental business for a wealthy family in Littleport, Maine. Her life is turned upside down when her best friend - and the family’s youngest daughter - dies mysteriously. Avery grapples with her loss and finds herself drawn into the complicated investigation.

Publisher: Simon & Schuster, Simon & Schuster Canada

The Last Resort by Marissa Stapley

Pub date: June 18th

Synopsis: Doctors Miles and Grace Markell seem like the perfect power couple. They run a wellness retreat in the Mayan Riviera and help spouses deal with marital struggles. But when Miles goes missing during a retreat session, everyone becomes a suspect. The couples are trapped at the retreat because of an impending hurricane, and as suspicions and fears run high, things are sure to get out of hand quickly. Fans of Shari Lapena and Agatha Christie will love this tropical page-turner.

Publisher: Simon & Schuster, Simon & Schuster Canada

I Know You by Annabel Kantaria

Pub date: June 21st

Synopsis: Having just moved from Sunny California to London, England soon-to-be mother Taylor Watson finds herself feeling lonely and isolated with her husband often traveling for work. She finally starts making friends when she joins a book club and walking group. But problems arise when Taylor learns her new friends have secrets and that their very public social media exploits have been attracting dangerous attention. I Know You will make readers reconsider how well they know the people around them.

Publisher: Crooked Lane Books

Dear Wife by Kimberly Belle

Pub date: June 25th

Synopsis: For nearly a year Beth Murphy has been planning to escape from her abusive husband. She’s got a new name, new identity, and plans to flee to a new city. A few hundred miles away a man returns home from work to discover that his wife, Sabine, is missing with signs pointing to foul play. The detective on the case will stop at nothing to find her. Nothing in the gripping thriller is certain except that someone is lying. Fans of Shari Lapena, Ruth Ware and Paula Hawkins will devour this new novel from the author of Three Days Missing.

Publisher: HarperCollins Canada, Park Row

After The End by Clare Mackintosh

Pub date: June 25th

Synopsis: The bestselling author of I Let You Go, Let Me Lie and I See You is back with a heart-wrenching family drama. Max and Pip are the strongest couple anyone knows, but when their son gets sick they find themselves in disagreement about what the doctors are advising them to do - they each want a different future for their son. But what if they could have both? In similar style to Jodi Picoult’s My Sister’s Keeper, After The End is an exploration of love, loss and recovery.

Publisher: Sphere

The Orphan’s Song by Lauren Kate

Pub date: June 25th

Synopsis: In 18th century Venice two orphans become friends at the Hospital of the Incurables. Violetta and Mino dream of escaping, but when Violetta’s voice is noticed by the resident Maestro and she is chosen for the Incurable’s world famous coro, she must sign an oath to never sing outside it’s church doors again. After a declaration of love falls flat, Mino flees the Incurables in search of his family while Violetta begins a dangerous and forbidden nightlife. Eventually they find each other once again in a shocking confrontation.

Publisher: G.P. Putnam’s Sons